City Council

Tega Cay is governed by a Mayor and City Council who are elected by the people of the City. All positions are elected as at-large seats. Council members serve a four year staggered term. It is the responsibility of the City Council to guide the City to meet the strategic vision of the City, through the passage of Ordinances and Resolutions. The City of Tega Cay is run by a Council/Manager form of government.

Meeting Locations
City Council holds their regular monthly meetings on the third Monday of each month at 7:00 PM in the Council Chambers, located in the lower level of the Glennon Center (15077 Molokai Dr.). Council will occasionally hold special meetings which are typically held the first Monday of the month at the same time and location as regular meetings.

Agendas, Minutes and Video

​Letter from the Mayor

Tega Cay is a small city with many big amenities. We are situated on the shores of Lake Wylie in South Carolina where you can enjoy fishing, water skiing, or just spend a quiet day on the lake with your family and friends. 

We also have a 27 hole golf course that winds throughout the peninsula of the City. As a recreational community, we have many parks, tennis & pickleball courts, ball fields and walking trails to go along with our sports programs or to enjoy a leisurely walk. If you are looking for a place to start your family, enjoy your family or retire, Tega Cay is where you want to be. 

After retiring from the military, I moved to Tega Cay and instantly knew this was the perfect place to call home. Linda and I raised two kids who attended grades 1-12 in the “Blue Ribbon of Excellence" Fort Mill School District, and both went on to Clemson University. Come visit Tega Cay and see for yourself what a great place this is. Whether it is our excellent amenities or our southern hospitality, Tega Cay has everything you could wish for, and it's why we call Tega Cay “The Good Life.” 

-Mayor David O'Neal


Name Phone Email Term Expires
Mayor David O'Neal 803-517-2732 2022
Mayor Pro Tem Gus Matchunis 704-619-9758 2024
Ryan Richard 337-540-1299 2024
Heather Overman 704-617-1656 2022
Alicia Dasch 704-249-4120 2022

(Pictured left to right) 
Mayor Pro Tem Gus Matchunis, Councilmember Heather Overman, Mayor David O'Neal, 
Councilmember Alicia Dasch & Councilmember Ryan Richard

Council Group Photo 4.2018